Saturday, April 12, 2014

Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country:

This is an old article pending revision.

Might Contain Spoilers.

1991 marked the end of a series of movies starring Kirk, Spock, Bones, Scotty, Uhura, Sulu, Checkov, Chapel, Rand, Kyle, and Saavik when Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country was released. The title itself is a phrase from Hamlet, and the movie contains several quotes from classic literature. Sulu is not a member of The Enterprise A anymore; he is commanding the starship that he has always wanted to, with Rand as his communications officer. They are nearby when Praxis explodes, leaving The Klingon Empire helpless. The Federation, especially Spock, are wanting to help out, but Kirk is resisting because of the problems that have occured between him and them. There are also many other people from both sides that are resisting, which causes even more problems since somebody obtains one of his log entries and uses it against him when the message is carried to The Klingon Empire. Some Klingons are invited to The Enterprise and when they return the Klingon ship has been fired on and they lose their gravity and was boarded by people in space suits which shoot and kill the crew members, including the Chancellor of the High Council. The space suits have magnetic boots and it is impossible to see who is inside them. They are Star Fleet space suits, and the torpedos that knock out the gravity come from the direction of The Enterprise. Kirk and McCoy are framed and were set up, and then sent to a very bad mining operation. Spock figures out how to save them, and make plans to rescue them. They refuse to give up, and are even going to disobey orders to accomplish their very important mission. Everybody figures out that some Star Fleet Officers and some of The Klingons are uneasy about The Federation and the Klingon Empire working together.

Grace Lee Whitney appears in this film, obviously as Janice Rand, but is listed in the film's credits as Excelsior Communications Officer. This has also happened before when she was credited as Woman In Cafeteria. There is also an inconsistency with her Star Fleet Rank.

Rene Auberjonois appears as Colonel West, the only Star Fleet Officer known to have that rank. Colonel West was originally edited and then restored. Rene Auberjonois would later appear as Constable Odo in Deep Space Nine.

The Federation President is an Efrosian, who looks very similar to the Helm Officer of the USS Saratoga. They are not the same actor. The Efrosian Helm Officer is portrayed by Nick Ramus. The Federation President is portrayed by Kurtwood Smith.

The Renovated Enterprise & Enterprise A & The Enterprise D share much of the same set. The corridors are very similar, while the Enterprise D isn't as chrome as the other Enterprises. The engine rooms are alike, with changes to what is on the computer consoles. The crew quarters, transporter rooms, and sickbays are the same, and the laboratory is part of Beverly Crusher's office. The officer's lounge is the same room as the Observation Lounge (even when there was an Enterprise D officer's lounge the episode "Haven") and the Federation President's office is part of Ten Forward with curtains in front of the windows, a projection screen in the office where the counter is in Ten Forward, and different Federation logos in the windows of the doors to the room. (and possibly another area of Ten Forward could have been used for part of the Enterprise A had a mess hall and kitchen)

Some of the cast of Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country is William Shatner as Kirk, Leonard Nimoy as Spock, DeForest Kelley as Bones, James Doohan as Scotty, George Takei as Sulu, Nichelle Nichols as Uhura, Walter Koenig as Checkov, Grace Lee Whitney As Commander Janice Rand, June Cattrall as Valeris, Mark Lenard as Sarek, Michael Dorn as Colonel Worf, Rene Auberjonois as Colonel West, and Kurtwood Smith as the Efrosian Federation President.

Other cast members are Iman, Shakti, David Anderson, John Bloom, Jim Boeke, Michael Bofshever, Todd Bryant, Carlos Cestero, Douglas Dunning, Edward Clements, Rosana DeSoto, Robert Easton, Doug Engalla, Darryl Henriques, Matthias Hues, Katie Johnston, Boris Lee Krutonog, Judy Levitt, Tom Morga, David Orange, Dennis Ott, Brock Peters, Christopher Plummer, Brett Porter, Paul Rossilli, Jeremy Roberts, Leon Russom, Clifford Shegog, John Schuck, William Morgan Sheppard, Christian Slater, Michael Snyder, Eric A. Stillwell, Angelo Tiffe, Guy Vardaman, J.D. Walters, and David Warner.

B.J. Davis & Alan Marcus played Yeoman Burke and Samno. Jeff Imada is a Stunt Double.

Stunt Performers are Ed Anders, Jeff Bornstein, Eddie Braun, Charlie Brewer, Hal Burton, Greg Baxley, Brett Davidson, Dorothy Ching-Davis, Maria Doest, Joe Farago, Sandy Free , Joy Hooper, Tom Huff, Jeffrey S. Jensen, Robert King , Scott Leva, Cole McKay, Eric Norris, Noon Orsatti, Deeana Pampena, Gary T. Pike, Donald B. Pulford,

Joycelyn Robinson, Danny Rogers, Don Ruffin, Spike Silver, and Erik Stabenau.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.